Becoming Professional: A Blog

How To Write Your 60 Second Commercial

Posted on: March 6, 2010


One thing every good networker needs is a clear 60 second commercial. Let’s see what goes in to one and how to make it.

According to Heather R. Huhman on this site, the steps are:

  1. Who Are You?
  2. What Are You Seeking?
  3. What Can You Offer?
  4. Request Action
  5. And Put it Together

And lastly KISS (Keep It Simple, Stupid).

Let’s see how this actually works, using me, of course, as an example.

My name is Kate Davids. I graduated from ASU with a degree in Marketing and I’m a professionalism blogger. I am looking for more information on social media marketing. I recently guided my company’s Fan Page to over 750 Fans in about two months. I’d love to sit down and chat with you some time about the uses of social media.

I used the format that Ms. Huhman suggested on the original post.

Anyway, this is how to develop an “elevator pitch.” I’d imagine that, like resumes, a different pitch is needed for different situations (if I’m at a professionalism networking event, I doubt I’d be asking about social media, for instance). I’ve never really used one before, so let’s see how this helps my networking efforts.

1 Response to "How To Write Your 60 Second Commercial"

[...] Brand” is just how to communicate this inner who-you-are to others. That’s the 60 Second Commercial, what you’re wearing, your behavior on Linked In and other social networking sites… The [...]

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 53 other followers

Who Am I?

I am a Digital Native who is trying to puzzle out what exactly that means. I share my thoughts on social media, digital business models, and PR here on this blog.

I am currently getting my Masters in Digital Marketing from Hult International Business School, having gotten my B.S. in Marketing from Arizona State University. Everything is on track and I am making headway towards my dream: World Domination... or being a productive, helpful citizen and marketer. Whichever comes first.

Don't hesitate to get in touch. I Tweet daily at @KateDavids and also have a science fiction and fantasy blog (maskedgeek.wordpress.com) and Twitter (@Masked_Geek).

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 53 other followers

