Becoming Professional: A Blog

Use social networking!

Posted on: May 15, 2010


My loyal readers will know by now that I’m a Linked In groupie. I go on every day, so if you want to get a hold of me, there are few better ways. So while I was enjoying my morning Answers bonanza (Answers being the Linked In area where people ask questions and then… answer them), I passed across the following question: 

 


“Looking for happy ending stories on how social networking makes students more employable. What is your experience?” 

 


Now I grant you that the original author, Camelia Burn, is asking for positive stories, so there will naturally be a bias towards the possitive in the responses, but let’s see how many answers she got… 7. That’s 1 a day on a rather bland question. Not all of them are stories, but all of them tend to praise networking, digital most often. The respondants mentioned everything from finding a job by looking at the ads on social networking sites and then engaging with people in positions to hire to using the wealth of knowledge now available in forums and online groups to hone skills and do better in interviews. You can meet people who can help you find freelance work, as well.

 


But I will make one caveat to this decree to use social networking: “using” does not mean “have a profile.” If you are going to use social networking, you have to engage, seek out influencers, and learn from them. It’s like going to school. Just having your tushy in the chair will not convey knowledge. Students must do the homework, take notes, and work for it. If it were as simple as having a profile… well, there would be less unemployment.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 56 other followers

Who Am I?

I am a Digital Native who is trying to puzzle out what exactly that means. I share my thoughts on social media, digital business models, and PR here on this blog.

I am currently getting my Masters in Digital Marketing from Hult International Business School, having gotten my B.S. in Marketing from Arizona State University. Everything is on track and I am making headway towards my dream: World Domination... or being a productive, helpful citizen and marketer. Whichever comes first.

Don't hesitate to get in touch. I Tweet daily at @KateDavids and also have a science fiction and fantasy blog (maskedgeek.wordpress.com) and Twitter (@Masked_Geek).

