Becoming Professional: A Blog

Get a Visa 1: Documents

Posted on: August 3, 2010


Getting a Visa, Work Visa, Immigration

by Heidi in Cleveland

As the business world becomes more and more international, more professionals are traveling, taking them abroad for everything from conferences to two year stints in foreign countries. Besides dealing with the logistics of hotels and currency conversion, these professionals are going through the visa process. I’ve done it once so far, am working on a second time, and have seen my brother do it twice himself. We’re an international family, and being one gets me some insite into the schizophrenia of visas.

Welcome to the first post of the Getting a Visa Blog Series.

Besides relying on my own experience, part of my preparation for this blog series was asking a Question on Linked In about what people thought of the visa process and doing general research. This is not a step-by-step guide to how to get a visa but rather an exploration into what the process is like. I would love to do a step-by-step guide, but the process varies tremendously depending on your country of origin, destination country, and the time of the month (this last might be an exaggeration, but I’m not sure).

This time, we’ll cover one aspect that seems particularly burdensome in getting a French visa, but can also nip you in the bum with other countries: documents.

To get my French student visa, I had to have my documents, including my birth certificate, translated into, yes, French. This ties in to a little bit of French law many Americans at least might not realize–all contracts must be written in French when they are with a French company. I had to get a bunch of documents, too, each translated into French by a certified translator. Everything from my birth certificate to my college transcripts. I even seem to remember my high school records getting caught up in that. If you don’t believe me that the French are document prone, Maggie Kim, a writer and musician who moved to Paris from New York to be with her husband, had a similar experience. After my list of documents was acquired and translated (my translator was in Florida. I did a bit of mailing), I had to then get to a French Consulate and submit them for inspection.

French Visa

by Reinante El Pintor de Fuego

Maggie lived in Manhattan, so when she got turned away because she didn’t have the right documents, she could go back without being tremendously put out. I live in Arizona, so my nearest consulate was in LA. Those plane tickets aren’t bad, but I am not made out of money. I had to get everything right the first time. I made my appointment and showed up. Surprisingly, I thought the people working at the consulate were kind, though I don’t doubt that my ability to actually speak French had something to do with that. A nice little note to all folk thinking of going to France for anything: at least try to speak French. The French people will love you for it and then whip outtheir (generally) amazingly good English.

No one will say that this love of documentation is a French monopoly. Other countries can be just as insane. My mother and brother once almost got turned away from getting an Italian student visa because the woman behind the counter didn’t like the type of paper the photocopies were on. To hear my mother tell the story, the only reason my brother was able to legally immigrate to Italy for his bachelors degree was that Mother glared at the consulate worker with enough passion and threat of imminent danger that the woman meekly took the documents and issued the visa.

If you have any of your own stories, please share them in the comments. I don’t know how long this series will be, but next up, I tackle paperwork!

5 Responses to "Get a Visa 1: Documents"

The only encounter that I have that comes close to this is inquiring about information in regards to traveling to Iran. I would like to go in the future to see the family I have never met but apparently I will have to go through hassle.

Because my dad is Persian I would have to get an Iranian passport. I also would have to get a Persian social security card and birth certificate translated into Farsi. Fingerprints and pictures are required, which also would require me to wear a scarf and cover my hair in every picture. It’s been hard to make an appointment because my dad has to be there in person to sign for me. It would be a lot to papers to gather.

You couldn’t just get a visitor’s visa? That’s really a lot!

I know! It’s a lot but because my dad is Persian it has to be done.

I believe that it is no problem for other folks to visit with just a visa but I would have to check.

Kate,

Visas are a necessary yet daunting side to travelling. For a long time, I thought everyone was like me, with diplomat parents, you are used to dash through most obstacles.

Then, hard reality hit when I asked a student visa for the US. OMG, from the TOEFL to queuing for hoursat the American Embassy, I started to be restless. And still, I was lucky.

WitUs, with western passports/nationalities are very lucky. Most travel endeveours are still easy compared to the people with nationalities the require so many more tractations.

Anyway, eager to read the rest of your series

Thank you for the comment! I wish I had diplomat parents! You are absolutely right, though. Different countries have different treaties, which can make travel very difficult. I remember the Chinese students studying with me in France. They couldn’t leave the country, like I could, if I remember correctly, because of the rules on their visas. I will definitely be covering this aspect of visas.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 55 other followers

Who Am I?

I am a Digital Native who is trying to puzzle out what exactly that means. I share my thoughts on social media, digital business models, and PR here on this blog.

I am currently getting my Masters in Digital Marketing from Hult International Business School, having gotten my B.S. in Marketing from Arizona State University. Everything is on track and I am making headway towards my dream: World Domination... or being a productive, helpful citizen and marketer. Whichever comes first.

Don't hesitate to get in touch. I Tweet daily at @KateDavids and also have a science fiction and fantasy blog (maskedgeek.wordpress.com) and Twitter (@Masked_Geek).

