Becoming Professional: A Blog

Social Media Overload Counterstrike

Posted on: March 14, 2011


I can’t keep up! So much to do and so much to see. So many people to talk to and so many places to be!

an eraser whiping out stress

by alancleaver_2000 on Flickr

No, I’m not rapping. I’m describing my life. I live in London, am studying for a Masters degree in Digital Marketing, have a social life, am interning (in another town), and am networking with local professionals. When am I supposed to take an hour of my time to read blogs? Or dedicate another hour to Linked In, Twitter, Brazen Careerist, and Quora? Let’s leave Facebook out of the picture. I would love to make myself a Fan Page and use it for networking, but when? When am I supposed to read those lovely business books all budding marketers should memorize?

Something has got to change. I’m streamlining my life, hopefully in order to get even more done and without going crazy from over-work. How?

Of course, there is an element of prioritization. But I’m also going to limit what I am actually going to do in a day. Up until now, I have been present on all my social media networks every day. No more. I’ll be on Linked In for about half an hour one day. The next day, I’ll be on this blog, the next on Brazen, and then onto Quora. This way I can give each network its due whenever I’m there. Even Twitter will be in the rotation. Though I have a feeling my Twitter addiction won’t go away, I’ll be more involved in finding out about my followers or new people to follow on certain days, while simply not doing anything on other days.

I’m reminded of why Seth Godin doesn’t use Twitter. It’s too easy to spend too much time getting nothing done. Hopefully this new tactic towards social media usage will get me where I want to go, instead of just hassling me.

How do you manage? Have you come up against this problem before? Let me know. In turn, I’ll post an update on how this is working in a bit.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 55 other followers

Who Am I?

I am a Digital Native who is trying to puzzle out what exactly that means. I share my thoughts on social media, digital business models, and PR here on this blog.

I am currently getting my Masters in Digital Marketing from Hult International Business School, having gotten my B.S. in Marketing from Arizona State University. Everything is on track and I am making headway towards my dream: World Domination... or being a productive, helpful citizen and marketer. Whichever comes first.

Don't hesitate to get in touch. I Tweet daily at @KateDavids and also have a science fiction and fantasy blog (maskedgeek.wordpress.com) and Twitter (@Masked_Geek).

