Becoming Professional: A Blog

The Economist in the Tube

Posted on: July 7, 2011


I’ve touched on this in the past, but I do love a good outdoor ad, particularly the ads in the London Tube. Okay, some of them aren’t so hot, but occasionally I find one that I think has done a good job. And most recently, it’s this one.

Two Economist Posters Hung Side by Side in a London Tube

When I highlighted the “Beware of Pick-Packets” McDonald’s ad, I focused on how important it is for an ad to be aware of its surroundings and use them. In the McDonald’s case this meant referring to a common reference that viewers would know. The Economist is also referring to outside events that make it relevant to viewers, but in a less localized fashion. Plus it isn’t funny.

But that isn’t my only criteria for a good Tube ad. The Economist is using the ads to their full capacity in a number of ways. First off, it’s not a picture. These ads use the fact that people standing on Tube platforms are all bored. But this isn’t a novel approach to Tube ads. Practically all of them do this. No, what I like is that these ads are each two ads side by side. This probably cost quite a pretty penny but it is a very effective use of space.

The Economist's Ad Showcase Anti-China

When I first saw the ads, I only saw one of them. I simply hadn’t noticed the sister ad hung up right next to it. I was shocked. Yes, there are people with those political views, but do you ever see them shouting about their ideas in a Tube ad? Not really (except during election time, maybe).

The Economist Ad Showcase Pro-ChinaThen I saw the other one. Just as partisan but in an opposite color scheme. I got the message loud and clear: the Economist tells both sides of the story. And that makes it a good ad. What makes it better is that when these ads first appeared (or I first noticed them), the Economist had folk handing out free copies of the magazine at Tube entrances.Demon Panda eyes

But I do have to wonder about the demon panda.

 

3 Responses to "The Economist in the Tube"

Yeah, what is up with the demon panda??? I get the black and white reference of the ads – sorta like a cowboy, does he wear a white cowboy hat or black? Get to see both sides and makes you think about each side and what determination you take away from each side – Interesting! I like both posts – this one and the post about the McDonald’s ad.

I’m glad you enjoyed them. I like looking at ads. When done well, I think they are art (when not, they are not, though). In this particular one, I really did like the use of space purchasing two post spaces provided. Also gave me more reading material as I waited for my tube!

The scheme works, and it gets the point across. You have the Devil’s Advocate and the good little angel side by side, like they are sitting on your shoulder (as they are probably right over your shoulder in the tube). Seams a bit like Pandering to both sides though… could be seen as a bit wishy washy. But, as they say “Live by the Sword…”

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 56 other followers

Who Am I?

I am a Digital Native who is trying to puzzle out what exactly that means. I share my thoughts on social media, digital business models, and PR here on this blog.

I am currently getting my Masters in Digital Marketing from Hult International Business School, having gotten my B.S. in Marketing from Arizona State University. Everything is on track and I am making headway towards my dream: World Domination... or being a productive, helpful citizen and marketer. Whichever comes first.

Don't hesitate to get in touch. I Tweet daily at @KateDavids and also have a science fiction and fantasy blog (maskedgeek.wordpress.com) and Twitter (@Masked_Geek).

